Faux Leather Fashion

My vice before becoming vegan was leather handbags and shoes and I had invested quite a bit of money on these items. I have since sold a few of these pieces on eBay but for the most part I made the decision to wear out what I already have and ensure all future purchases are faux leather. Over the last few weeks I have been on the hunt for some fashionable faux leather items which cut the mustard in replacing leather. I wanted to share these findings with you today.

New Look Tan Sandals £19.99

I found these 70’s inspired sling back mules on ASOS and immediately flung them in my basket. I wasn’t sure what size to get as I’m an awkward 5.5 UK size and my shoe collection ranges from 5 to 6 as most places don’t do half sizes. I opted for the 5 in these sandals and they fit perfectly, so I would recommend going for the size down if you are inbetween sizes like me. They arrived this weekend and I paired them with this whistles jumpsuit and they worked really well together to create a chic retro look. The quality of the shoe is really quite amazing for the price and the faux suede is lovely. They are not the most comfy of shoes and I definitely wouldn’t do extensive walking in these but they are great for a day-time meal or house party.

image

Zara Bucket Bag £19.99

I couldn’t quite believe the price of this bag when I saw it online. I then saw it in person in my local store and discovered it was just as nice up close and bought it there and then. It’s a really light bag so it’s easy on the shoulders and I love that you can carry it by the handle and take the long strap off if you wish. It’s the perfect size, it appears on the small side but can surprisingly fit a lot in. I managed to get my lunch for the day, a big purse and make up in it. The material is really nice and a few people have said that they thought it was real leather. Only time will tell how durable it is but I think that if I don’t go crazy with over packing it should last well and for the price it isn’t the end of the world if it only lasts a year or so!

image

Primark Ankle Boots £15

I used to love Dune Ankle boots but it’s very difficult to find a non leather pair in there so I have been keeping my eye out for a pair of ankle boots to take me into the Autumn months. I saw these in primark for £15 and thought they were a bargain and fit the bill; they are super comfy and look great with dress and jeans. On reflection I wish I had got the black pair as these are really quite blue in person and obviously black would go with more clothes and be less jarring but sometimes it’s nice to mix things up a bit. I know – wild right?

image

3 thoughts on “Faux Leather Fashion

  1. Lisa Fishburn says:

    I love the boots from Primark – I went there specifically for that reason yesterday but didn’t see those ones 😦 Gutted they mustn’t have them anymore! x

Leave a comment